Stolf’s Blog 11/29/2011

Since this letter to Truck Trend magazine will never see the light of day, I might as well share it here…

Sadly, if you print this letter (which seems doubtful), I won’t be able to read it, since I have let my subscription run out. There were many things to like about your mag…I mean, you never tried headlines in Spanish on the cover, that I can recall! But I guess the “trend” toward cars and away from trucks got the better of me. SUVs = trucks…cross-overs = cars. Don’t get me wrong: I happen to like station wagons, and wouldn’t have minded coverage, but you only cover those that pretend not to be.

My thinking was confirmed in the Jan/Feb issue where I read “New Jeep Crossover”…to be smaller than a Patriot or Compass…and to be called what, the Willys Aero-Lark? The Chinese have a saying: “Wisdom begins with calling things by their right names.” Which makes Truck Trend an ignorant publication, not a wise one…not the authority, just monkey-see, monkey-do. For me I suppose, the Liquified Taurine Effluvium (LTE…isn’t that the new Cadillac crossover?…no wait, the Lincoln!) just reached the high water mark. See ya, and thanks for the memories.

B*A*K*E*R*S   D*O*Z*E*N

(1) It’s a battle that never ends: between the life we’ve planned and the one waiting for us.

(2) Blaise Pascal: There are truths on this side of
the Pyrenees, which are falsehoods on the other.

(3) …compare with Noel Coward: There’s always been something fishy about the French!

(4) It’s been said that a church’s first obligation is not to interfere with God’s work…

(5) Josh Billings said: It takes a smart man to conceal from others what he doesn’t know.

(6) …and also: Remembering the poor costs you nothing…helping them, a little more…

(7)  » » »  40 for you…and 60 for me…and equal partners…we will be!  « « «

(8) People who never look upward…think they’e gone as high as they can go…

(9) Robert Green Ingersoll: To eternity, the mountains are as transient as the clouds…

(10) Some believe if you’re going to make a mistake, make it at the top of your lungs.

(11) Moms Mabley advised children: Forget the lights
and watch the cars…lights don’t never run you over…

(12) Most Interesting Man in the World:
he knows what the H in “Judas H. Priest” stands for…

(13) Joan Rivers lamented: I haven’t had sex in so long, I forget who ties up who…

POUTINE-ON-A-STICK

A traditional Navajo blanket?…or just random digital “noise”?…you make the call, my friend…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

